Lady Bulldogs ready to roar

National University sets its sights on another title conquest, this time against the finest collegiate squads in the Shakey’s Super League set to unwrap on 22 September.

The University Athletics Association of the Philippines women’s volleyball champions are committed to participate in the newest grassroots league forged between Shakey’s Pizza Ventures, Inc. and the Athletics Events and Sports Management Group of the Philippines.

“NU is committed to any worthwhile, worthy undertaking especially in collegiate sports,” NU athletic director Otie Camangian during the launch of SSL at the Shakey’s ASEANA in Parañaque.

Camangian added that the tournament will serve as a chance for the team to gauge their level of play heading into the next UAAP season early next year.

“If we’re seeing value in one tournament that will benefit out student athletes then definitely we’ll always consider that.”

Camangian said that the composition of the Lady Bulldogs has yet to be discussed but expected to see action for the Karl Dimaculangan-mentored squad are reigning UAAP Rookie-Most Valuable Player Bella Belen, Alyssa Solomon, Jennifer Nierva, Ivy Lacsina, setter Lams Lamina and Sheena Toring — the core of the national team that were sacked by the Philippine National Volleyball Federation recently after the NU management decided not to allow its players to join the Premier Volleyball League Invitational Conference semifinals on short notice.

“We in NU look at it as an opportunity to better improve our team, better improve our respective student athletes and better improve our respective coaches,” Camangian said.

“Things happen for various reasons, but at the end of the day if you’re an athlete you will continue to be an athlete as long as you can play you just have to move on,” he added.

The Lady Bulldogs will face off with 15 other teams from both the National Collegiate Athletics Association and the UAAP.

Other teams confirmed to participate in the tournament are UAAP teams De La Salle University, University of Santo Tomas, University of the East, Ateneo de Manila University and Far Eastern University.

NCAA champion College of St. Benilde, Arellano University, San Beda University, University of Perpetual Help, Emilio Aguinaldo University, Letran, Mapua, Lyceum of the Philippines University, San Sebastian College and Jose Rizal University round up the other participating squads.

UAAP teams University of the Philippines and Adamson University are expected to decide if they will join the tournament within the week.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *