Alternative films feted

Rufyla by Coleen Tanco won first prize for the Short Feature category.

The Gawad CCP Para sa Alternatibong Pelikula at Video celebrated its 30th anniversary with a good harvest of cinematic talents this year.

The longest-running independent film competition of its kind in the Southeast Asian and Asian region announced the winners during the awarding ceremonies on 6 August at the CCP Tanghalang Manuel Conde (Dream Theater).

Established in 1987, the Gawad Alternatibo annually cites the best efforts of Filipino filmmakers in four categories — Animation, Experimental, Documentary and Short Feature.

It has been one of the main components of the Cinemalaya Philippine Independent Film Festival, which ran from 3 to 12 August at various CCP theaters and select Ayala cinemas.

Josef Gacutan’s “‘Wag mo ‘kong Kausapin” took the lead in the Animation category. Joshua Q. Dela Cruz’s “Peacekeeper” and Rosette D. Caoile’s “Chase” received the second prize and third prize, respectively. Honorable mentions were “Katungkulan (Duty)” by Fria Therese Mae B. Ellorenco, “Laro by Autotelic” by Neil Russel R. Fandiño and “Natural Selection” by Fatima Abeer W. Uking.

“Ang Pagtuklas sa Larangan ng Pagiging Maria Clara” by Lady B. Vicente was judged the best in the Experimental category. Second prize went to “Missing Cassettes, or Things Lost When Moving” by Mervine Aquino, while “Sa Tabi ng mga Anito” by Gabrielle Lloyd D. Reyes won third prize. “E” by Jose Mojica and “Ang Kabit ni Papa” by Robin Estargo were honorable mentions.

Jury members Carl Joseph E. Papa, Grace A. Dimaranan and Nelson “Blog” Caliguia, Jr. judged both the Animation and Experimental categories.

Top prizes in the Documentary category went to “Pagkatapos ng Tigkiriwi” by Danielle Madrid, “Binibining Detainee” by Max Canlas, and “Our Lives and Other Fairytales” by Alyssa Suico. Honorable mentions were given to “Manoy Taghoy” by Arjanmar Rebeta and “Bukid, Gulod, Libis” by Brian Sulicipan and Christelle Delvo. The judges for this category were Ditsi Carolino, Jaja Arumpac and Tops Brugada.

For the Short Feature category, “Rufyla” by Coleen Tanco won the first prize, which also received the Best Regional Entry award. “Palabas (A Country in Moving Pictures)” by Arjanmar H. Rebeta and “Para Kay James” by Steven Paul Evangelio tied for the second place. Third prize was “Wala’y Humayan sa Tanglad” by Neil Angelo Briones. Honorable mentions were “Sa Gabing Tanging Liwanag ay Paniniwala” by Francis Guillermo and “Aswang” by Hannah Grace Maur. Best Entry On/For/By Children was awarded to “Amusin Pa” by Raiza Masculino. The winners were selected by jury members Pam Miras, Thop Nazareno and Zig Dulay.

Winners in all categories each received a cash prize, as well as certificate.

Read more Daily Tribune stories at:

Follow us on social media
Facebook: @tribunephl
Youtube: TribuneNow
Twitter: @tribunephl
Instagram: @tribunephl
Threads: @tribunephl
TikTok: @dailytribuneofficial

Like us on Facebook