“Florita” slightly weakens, 4 areas remain under signal no. 3

Severe tropical storm “Florita” has slightly weakened while traversing the northern portion of Apayao, according to  Philippine Atmospheric, Geophysical and Astronomical Services Administration on Tuesday afternoon.

The state weather bureau reported on its 5:00 p.m. bulletin that the center of “Florita” was located in the vicinity of Kabugao in Apayao. “Florita” is moving northwestward at 20 kilometers per hour with maximum sustained winds of 100 kph and gustiness of 125 kph.

PAGASA said heavy to intense with at times torrential rains will batter Cagayan including Babuyan Islands, Cordillera Administrative Region, Ilocos Region, Zambales, and Bataan. Moderate to heavy rains will be experienced over Metro Manila, Isabela, Tarlac, Pampanga, Cavite, and the rest of Cagayan Valley.

The rest of Central Luzon and CALABARZON will have light to moderate with at times heavy rains, the agency added.

PAGASA warned that “under these conditions, scattered to widespread flooding (including flash floods) and rain-induced landslides are expected especially in areas that are highly or very highly susceptible to these hazard as identified in hazard maps, and in localities with significant antecedent rainfall.”

Tropical cyclone wind signal no. 3 remains raised in:

Ilocos Norte


Southern portion of Babuyan Islands including Camiguin Island, Fuga Island, Dalupiri Island

Mainland Cagayan

Areas under signal no. 2 are:


Mountain Province



Ilocos Sur

Rest of Babuyan Islands

Signal no. 1 is raised in:

La Union


Nueva Vizcaya


Eastern portion of Pangasinan (Umingan, San Fabian, Sison, Pozorrubio, San Jacinto, Laoac, Binalonan, San Manuel, Asingan, Tayug, Santa Maria, San Quintin, Natividad, San Nicolas)

Northern portion of Nueva Ecija (Carranglan, Lupao, San Jose City, Pantabangan)

Northern and central portions of Aurora (Maria Aurora, Dipaculao, Dinalungan, Casiguran, Dilasag)


14 barangays in Cagayan Valley  hit hard

Authorities have reported a total of 14 barangays heavily affected by “Florita” in Cagayan Valley.

Pre-emptive evacuations were declared in six villages in Baggaao town; three in Gattahan, and one barangay each for Iguig, Gonzaga, Aparri, Peñablanca, and Allacapan.

Philippine Army 5th Infantry Division, spokesman Capt. Rigor Pamitan reported that 156 families or 519 individuals, including some 138 families or 434 individuals currently staying in the evacuation centers,” have been affected by the storm in Cagayan Valley.

In Isabela, some 17 families are now staying at the New Divilacan Center, Brgy Dimapula, Divilacan while 13 families have evacuated to the Old Church in Brgy. Diana, Maconacon.

Two individuals from the towns of Tuguegarao and Enrile were injured due to fallen trees. Meanwhile, the Sippaga bridge in Baggao and the Peñablanca’s Nattalag bridge remain impassable.

The Baculud overflow bridge in Ilagan City is likewise not passable.

Paminta 5ID has already mobilized its humanitarian assistance and disaster response (HADR) units to bring necessary equipment and rescue materials in the towns of Lal-lo, Lasam, and Rizal in Cagayan and Flora, Apayao.

Meanwhile, the 502nd Infantry Brigade of 5ID also mobilized HADR teams in the towns of Echague, Isabela while the 86th Infantry Battalion and the 95th Infantry Battalion deployed HADR teams to the towns of Jones and San Mariano and the city of Ilagan in Isabela.

Ready reserve units in the region are also on alert status.

The 202nd, 203rd and 204th Community Defense Centers of the 2nd Regional Community Defense Group have mobilized reservists for possible rescue and relief efforts in Isabela, Quirino and Nueva Vizcaya. (With a report from Lade Kabagani)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *