Marcos orders EDSA, Ninoy Day commemoration

Malacañang released on Tuesday Proclamation 42 listing as special non-working days for next year, 25 February commemorating the EDSA People Power Revolution, and 21 August as Ninoy Aquino Day.

The EDSA People Power Anniversary commemorates the ouster from power on 25 February 1986 of the father and namesake of President Ferdinand Marcos Jr.

Ninoy Aquino Day, on the other hand, serves to remember the 21 August 1983 killing of then-Senator Benigno Aquino Jr. at the tarmac of the Manila International Airport.

The assassination of Aquino was considered by many historians as the event that touched off the ouster of Marcos Sr.

Proclamation 42 signed by the President said the 37th anniversary of the Edsa People Power Revolution “ushered [in] political, social and economic reforms in the country.” It also cited the need to commemorate the death anniversary of Aquino.

The proclamation directed the Department of Labor and Employment to promulgate the implementing guidelines.

The following were declared regular holidays: January (Sunday), New Year’s Day; 6 April, Maundy Thursday; 7 April, Good Friday; 9 April, Araw ng Kagitingan; 1 May (Monday), Labor Day; 12 June (Monday), Independence Day; 28 August (last Monday of August), National Heroes Day; 30 November (Thursday), Bonifacio Day; 25 December (Monday), Christmas Day; and 30 December (Saturday), Rizal Day.

Also listed as special
non-working days are 1 February (Tuesday), Chinese New Year; 25 February (Saturday), EDSA anniversary; 8 April, Black Saturday; 21 August Ninoy Aquino Day; 1 November (Wednesday), All Saints’ Day; 8 December (Friday), Feast of the Immaculate Concepcion of Mary; and 31 December (Sunday), as last day of the year.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *