Spratlys ‘part of Bangsamoro,’ says MNLF

The Moro National Liberation Front stressed that it will pursue independence of the Bangsamoro republic which it believes to be comprised of Mindanao, Sulu, Palawan, the disputed islands in Spratlys and the land of North Borneo.

According to MNLF spokesperson Atty. Emmanuel Fontanilla, preparations are underway to revived the petition before the United Nations Committee on Decolonization using the arbitral award as their evidence affirming the proprietary right of the Sultanate of Sulu over the disputed territory.

The petition — which has been pending since 2016 — was shelved following the campaign promise of former President Rodrigo Duterte to shift to a federal form of government.

Fontanilla stressed that the MNLF central committee has given the go signal to pursue the BMR independence before the United Nations committee on decentralization.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *