Fun and thrill never stop

As if the thrill and excitement were not enough in Leg 1 of the Toyota Gazoo Racing Vios Cup last July, Toyota Motor Philippines staged a more electrifying racing action in Leg 2 recently.

Again, it was a fun and adrenaline-filled weekend. But this time around, dark clouds hovered over the Clark International Speedway in Pampanga, making it wet and wild for everyone. Veterans and up-and-coming racers from different teams, celebrities, influencers and members of the media dashed back to the track to duel each other and even claim spots on the podium for the Circuit Championship and Autocross Challenge.

DAILY Tribune’s motoring editor, Ronald de los Reyes (right) clinches the third spot on the podium in the media advanced category

For the Circuit Championship, a total of 28 racers filled up the grid and participated across three categories — Promotional, Sporting, and Super Sporting classes. Each of them fiercely battled it out on the slippery track in a race to the chequered flag and on top of the podium.

RACERS tackle the wet track of the Clark International Speedway in Pampanga.

This time, Jay Lao of Happy Hotels/OT Racing Team claimed the top spot in the Promotional Class; followed by Toyota Team Cebu’s Alan Palacios and Jarond Mesina in second and third places, respectively. Meanwhile, Jiro Garbes of JB Racing/Toyota San Fernando championed the Sporting class, followed by Russell Cabrera of Toyota Team Cebu and Royce Sarmiento of RMS Cars Racing Team to claim the second and third spots. Lastly, R Racing Team’s Bryan Co topped the Super Sporting Class, while Inigo Anton representing Toyota North EDSA — Obengers Racing Team and Gerard Loy of R Racing Team trailed behind.

TOYOTA Gazoo Racing Vios Cup racers enjoy their moment on stage after an intense and gruelling whole-day battle at the track | PHOTOGRAPHS COURTESY OF TMP

The exhilaration did not stop there as the Autocross Challenge pumped up the energy for the influencers and members of the media, who viciously tackled the obstacle challenges. Coming back stronger this Leg 2 is Miguel Romulo, who took the top spot in the Celebrity Promotional Autocross; followed by Ashley Gosiengfiao in second and Carla Lizardo in third place. Meanwhile, dominating the Celebrity Sporting Autocross class is Jules Aquino, with Arron Villaflor and Enzo Pineda trailing him in second and third places, respectively.

The same level of excitement filled the obstacle course for the Media Autocross Challenge. Pablo Salapantan (Yugatech) took the first spot in the Promotional Media Autocross with Niko Villegas ( and Siegwald Go (C! Magazine) following right behind him. For the much advanced Sporting Media Class, Jamil Lacuna of took his game to the next level, defending his first-place finish, with Zigwheel’s Roy Robles coming behind him at second place and Daily Tribune’s Ronald de los Reyes taking the third and final spot on the podium.

TMP continues to live by its goal of supporting and promoting motorsports in the country by pushing limits for the better with the Toyota Gazoo Racing Vios Cup.

Also, the Toyota Gazoo Racing Gran Turismo (GR GT) Cup racers were back to join the fun at the Autocross Challenge. Luis Moreno took the first place, followed by Russel Reyes and Mark Elman in the second and third places, respectively.

ALL-NEW Toyota GR 86 parades at the track right before the race battles.

For Leg 2, here are the winners: Circuit championship – Promotional Class –1) Jay Lao, Happy Hotels/OT Racing Team; 2) Alan Palacios, Toyota Team Cebu; 3) Jarond Mesina, Toyota Team Cebu; Sporting Class —1) Jiro Garbes, JB Racing/Toyota Team San Fernando; 2) Russell Cabrera, Toyota Team Cebu; 3) Royce Sarmiento, RMS Cars Racing Team; Super Sporting Class –1) Bryan Co, R Racing Team; 2) Inigo Anton, Toyota North EDSA-Obengers Racing Team; 3) Gerard Loy, R Racing Team.

INTENSE head-to-head battle at the Circuit Racing Championship.

Meanwhile, for the Autocross Challenge, the following is the list of winners: Influencer Promotional Class –1) Miguel Romulo; 2) Ashley Gosiengfiao; 3) Carla Lizardo; Influencer Sporting Class –1) Jules Aquino; 2) Arron Villaflor; 3) Enzo Pineda; Media Promotional Class –1) Pablo Salapantan, Yugatech; 2) Niko Villegas,; 3) Siegwald Go, C! Magazine; Media Sporting Class –1) Jamil Lacuna,; 2) Roy Robles,; 3) Ronald de los Reyes, Daily Tribune; GR GT Promotional Class –1) Luis Moreno; 2) Russel Reyes; 3) Mark Elman.

Adding fun to an already thrilling weekend, motorsports enthusiasts also got a chance to meet the newest addition to the Toyota Gazoo Racing lineup — the all-new GR 86 — as it navigated the speedway alongside the GR Yaris.

TMP continues to live by its goal of supporting and promoting motorsports in the country by pushing limits for the better with the Toyota Gazoo Racing Vios Cup. The series concludes with Leg 3 on November.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *