Taiwan to resume visa-free travel

Filipinos traveling to Taiwan will no longer need to acquire a visa as the self-governed island announced the restoration of its visa exemption policy for the Philippines and 10 other countries on Thursday.

The Ministry of Foreign Affairs announced that it will restore visa-free treatment to 11 out of 12 countries that were previously excluded from the restoration of Taiwan’s visa exemption policy.

Taiwan declared that visa-free treatment would resume on 29 September for nearly all of the previously excluded countries, with the notable exception of Russia. The length of the visa exemption varies from 90 days to 14 days.

On 6 September, Taiwan’s Bureau of Consular Affairs announced the temporary suspension of the visa-free privilege for visitors from Brunei, Chile, the Dominican Republic, Israel, Japan, Malaysia, Nicaragua, the Philippines, South Korea, Singapore, Thailand, and Russia.

In a statement, MoFA announced that citizens from countries that previously enjoyed visa-exempt status will once again be able to travel to Taiwan visa-free starting on 29 September.

Visitors from eligible countries can engage in business, exhibitions, fact-finding missions, international exchanges, sightseeing, family visits, and social visits without the need to apply for a permit, according to the ministry.

However, MoFA reminded those who wish to engage in other activities should obtain official permission from a central governmental agency by applying for a special entry permit (visa) from one of MoFA’s foreign missions.

Premier Su Tseng-chang announced that the Cabinet approved the first stage of easing border restrictions for Taiwan, with the changes to take effect on 29 September, while the second stage is likely to take effect on 13 October.

Su explained that the first phase will expand visa-free entry, raise the passenger quota, introduce the “one person per room” rule, and end saliva tests upon arrival while the second phase will implement a 150,000 weekly arriving passenger quota, the “0 +7” plan, the opening of borders to travelers from countries not previously granted visa-free treatment, and the lifting of the tour group ban.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *