Erik Matti’s ‘On the Job’ sequel earns 12 Urian nods

On the Job: The Missing 8, Erik Matti’s sequel to his 2013 crime thriller On the Job, earned the most nominations at 12 in the 45th Gawad Urian.

Mounted by the critics’ group Manunuri ng Pelikulang Pilipino, the Urian recently announced on Facebook the nominees, except those for Best Documentary and Best Short Film.

John Arcilla is a strong bet for Best Actor. | PHOTOGRAPH COURTESY OF FB/John Arcilla

The Missing 8 drew nods for Matti as Best Director; John Arcilla, Best Actor; Dennis Trillo and Dante Rivero, Best Supporting Actor.

The movie had its world premiere in Venice in September 2021, premiered in the Philippines at the Cultural Center of the Philippines on 18 February, and currently streams on HBO Go as a six-episode series along with the original On the Job.

Arcilla had won for The Missing 8 as Volpi Cup Best Actor, first time for a Filipino and a Southeast Asian, at the 78th Venice International Film Festival in 2021.

Sought-after for his versatility, Arcilla has double nominations in the Urian Best Supporting Actor for Big Night! and A Hard Day.

The Missing 8 is competing with Big Night!; Historya ni Ha; Kun Maupay Man It Panahon; and Walang Kasariaan ang Digmang Bayan for Best Film.

Lav Diaz’s ‘Historya ni Ha’ is nominated for Best Film. | PHOTOGRAPH COURTESY OF Sine Olivia Pilipinas


Matti is up against Joselito Altarejos (Walang Kasarian ang Digmang Bayan), Lav Diaz (Historya ni Ha), Lawrence Fajardo (A Hard Day), Carlo Francisco Manatad (Kun Maupay Man It Panahon) and Jun Robles Lana (Big Night!) for Best Director.

Meanwhile, Arcilla is pitted against Christian Bables (Big Night!), Paolo Contis (A Faraway Land), John Lloyd Cruz (Historya ni Ha), Dingdong Dantes (A Hard Day), Francis Magundayao (Tenement 66) and Japanese actor Shogen (Gensan Punch) for Best Actor.

Arcilla’s competitors for Best Supporting Actor are Ronnie Lazaro (Gensan Punch), Sandino Martin (Walang Kasarian ang Digmang Bayan), Rivero and Trillo (The Missing 8).

Charo Santos-Concio is nominated as Best Actress for Kun Maupay Man It Panahon, along with Donna Cariaga (Rabid), Elora Españo (Love and Pain in Between Refrains), Kim Molina (Ikaw at Ako at ang Ending) and Yen Santos (A Faraway Land).

Competing for Best Supporting Actress are Dolly de Leon (Historya ni Ha), Lotlot de Leon (The Missing 8), Eugene Domingo (Big Night!), Jay Valencia Glorioso (Rabid), Mae Paner (Historya ni Ha) and Shella Mae Romualdo (Arisaka).

Best Screenplay nominees are Giancarlo Abrahan V, Carlo Manatad and Jérémie Dubois (Kun Maupay Man It Panahon);
Altarejos (Walang Kasarian ang Digmang Bayan); Diaz (Historya ni Ha); Jun Lana (Big Night!); Irene Villamor (Ikaw at Ako at ang Ending); and Michiko Yamamoto (The Missing 8).

For the complete list of nominees, go to

Gawad Urian will honor filmmaker and visual artist Roque Federizon Lee, popularly known as Roxlee, with the Natatanging Gawad Urian, a lifetime achievement award.

The Manunuri, the oldest group of critics in the country, is led by chairman Gary Devilles, with members Tito Genova Valiente, Shirley Lua, Gigi Alfonso, Laurence Marvin Castillo, Butch Francisco, Mike Rapatan, Anne Frances Sangil, Nicanor Tiongson and Roland Tolentino.

The Urian pored over 79 films this year, with 14 films making the cut as nominees.

Awards night is on 27 October, the venue to be announced soon.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *