5 Seconds of Summer’s new album milestone

The release of 5 Seconds of Summer’s fifth studio album, 5SOS5, is a milestone.

Since forming 11 years ago, the Australian pop-punk quartet has performed across the globe, topped music charts, and won numerous awards.

Adding to the band’s accomplishments was an exclusive livestream of its concert, The Feeling of Falling Upwards, on 23 September at the Royal Albert Hall in London.

The group’s members, Luke Hemmings (vocals/guitar), Ashton Irwin (vocals/drums), Michael Clifford (vocals/guitar), and Calum Hood (vocals/bass), used to busk in front of the venue in their early days.

Prior to the gig, Hemmings told The Guardian: “I think when (the shows) come about, I’m (going to) be very stressed out and I’m (going to) try to enjoy it and not just focus on how stressed I am. I want to enjoy it and fully remember it, because (there are) parts of our career that I don’t remember, just from (the) sheer volume and not being present.”

5SOS performed reimagined versions of its past songs, as well as new ones from 5SOS5 like “Complete Mess,” “Bad Omens,” “Blender,” “Take My Hand,” and “Me, Myself & I” accompanied by an orchestra and choir.

5SOS5, which has 19 tracks, showcases the band’s multi-faceted artistry and growth, highlighting its dynamic pop-punk sound paired with reflective and intimate lyrics.

Stream 5SOS5 on digital platforms. Raye Sanchez @tribunephl_raye

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *