Arevalo seeks Nomura Cup spot

Kristoffer Arevalo is oozing with confidence ahead of the qualifying tournament for the Philippine team that will see action in the Asia-Pacific Amateur team championship, also known as the Nomura Cup, at the Masters course of the Manila Southwoods Golf and Country Club.

The five-round qualifying kicks off on 10 October with 22 of the country’s top amateurs invited to vie for three spots on the national team.

Arevalo, the reigning national strokeplay champion, said his game is in its best shape.

“My last tours helped me figure out what I needed to improve on and made me step out of my comfort zone,” said the 23-year-old De la Salle student.

“I figured routine and quality practice makes a big difference in having a good golf day.”

Arevalo, who plays the Masters course at least twice a week, said it takes a lot of calculated risks to score well.

“Trying new things can also help you understand how the course should be played,” he said.


My last tours helped me figure out what I needed to improve on and made me step out of my comfort zone.


Arevalo said he sees himself attacking the first five holes and trying to get birdies from par-3 and par-5 holes.

Also picked to contend is Gabriel Manotoc, who played with Arevalo in the last Southeast Asian Games in Vietnam.

Unlike Arevalo, Manotoc is approaching the tournament with guarded optimism.

“I think under par is pretty good depending on the course,” said the Academy of Art standout who pleaded not to be mentioned.

Aidric Chan, Carl Corpus and Jet Hernandez, who represented the country in the recent World Amateur team championship, are not in the field.

Only the top 12 players and those within 15 shots will advance into the final two rounds.

Thailand won the last staging of the Nomura Cup in 2017 in Malaysia.

The others invited to join the qualifying are Shin Suzuki, Leandro Bagtas, Edison Tabalin, Elee Bisera, Masa Otake, Josh Jorge, Santino Laurel, Patrick Tambalque, TJ Padilla, Zach Castro, Santino Pineda, Zach Villaroman, Basti Lorenzo, Jonas Magcalayo, Coby Rolida, Marc Lu, Zeus Sara, Mike Uy, Sean Granada and Joshua Buenaventura.

The Philippines has not won the Nomura Cup, finishing second in 1971 and 1977.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *