Marcos reappoints DICT chief, Comelec commissioners

IT expert Ivan John Uy on Thursday took his oath as Secretary of the Department of Information and Communications Technology before President Bongbong Marcos in Malacañang.

Uy was among the 11 Cabinet members reappointed by the President after they were bypassed by the Commission on Appointments due to “lack of material time.”

The 10 reappointed Cabinet officials took their oath last Wednesday when Uy was in Romania to attend the plenipotentiary conference of the ITU Council.

Uy previously headed the Commission on Information and Communications Technology under the administration of former President Benigno Aquino III.

Meanwhile, the President appointed veteran election lawyer Ernesto Maceda Jr. as the new commissioner of the Commission on Elections (Comelec).

Also reappointed was veteran IT expert Ernesto Celis, whose nomination was previously bypassed by the Commission on Appointments (CA).

They will be serving in Comelec until February 2029, if the CA confirmed their nominations.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *