Collegiate scribes elect new officers

Randolph Leongson of was elected president of the Collegiate Press Corps for the 2022-2023 athletic season last Wednesday at the Philsports Arena in Pasig.

Ahead of the elections, the National Collegiate Athletic Association and University Athletic Association of the Philippines Press Corps were formally unified into a single organization made up of writers from print and online outfits covering the collegiate sports beat.

Bea Micaller of GMA News Online and John Bryan Ulanday of The Philippine Star were unanimously chosen vice presidents for NCAA and the UAAP beats, respectively.

Mark Escarlote of Daily Tribune was voted vice president for internal affairs while Camille Naredo of ABS-CBN News Online was selected secretary.

Composing the Board of Directors are Luisa Morales of, Lance Agcaoili of, JR Isaga of Rappler, Theodore Jurado of People’s Journal and Peter Atencio of Manila Standard.

Former presidents Cedelf Tupas and Norman Lee Benjamin Riego will serve as advisers of the unified organization.

After nearly two years of inactivity due in part to the Covid-19 pandemic, the Collegiate Press Corps intends to bring back its traditional projects including the annual Collegiate Awards for outstanding student-athletes, as well as sportswriting clinic and contest for student publications.

The Player of the Week citations for both the NCAA and the UAAP are already underway after the group drew the support of major sponsor Philippine Sports Commission and minor sponsors MNL Kingpin, Tinapayan Festival and Jockey.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *