Marcos appoints new CA, CTA officials

Malacañang confirmed that President Ferdinand Marcos Jr. has appointed new officials of the Court of Appeals and Court of Tax Appeals — Selma Alaras and Wilhelmina Jorge-Wagan as CA associate justices and Corazon Ferrer-Flores as CTA associate justice.

Office of the Press Secretary officer-in-charge and Undersecretary Cheloy Garafil said that Supreme Court Chief Justice Alexander Gesmundo has administered the oath of office of the newly-appointed Justices.

The copies of the three new associate justices’ appointment papers were dated 11 October 2022 but were only made public on Wednesday evening.

Alaras and Jorge-Wagan were replacements for former CA associate justices Gabriel Ingles and Edgardo Camello.

Ingles and Camello retired on 27 February 2022 and 19 May 2022, respectively.

Prior to her appointment, Alaras worked as the presiding judge of Makati Regional Trial Court Branch 62, while Jorge-Wagan was the presiding judge of Pasig City RTC Branch 111.

Meanwhile, Ferrer-Flores replaced former CTA associate justice Juanito Castañeda who reached the mandatory retirement age in June.

Ferrer-Flores served as the Supreme Court’s Deputy Clerk of Court. She also served as Fiscal Management and Budget Office chief.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *